Photography

21 Apr

I have found photography to be one of the most difficult aspects of starting a business. Most businesses would source this part out, they would hire a professional photographer and rent or purchase the required equipment. This can easily move into the gazillion dollar range, which is at the moment a little bit out of my start ups budget. 

I decided to take on photography myself for a few reasons. One requirement of my store on Etsy is that I be able to post something new every few days. Outsourcing the pictures didn’t make sense, because it would hold up my postings that much longer. I felt that if I made something, it should be online as soon as I could get it there. It also felt right to see each design through from an idea to publication.

I was very naïve with photography at the beginning. I thought it would be as simple as propping my jewelry in an aesthetically pleasing way and snapping like crazy. This did not cut it. 

My first pictures turned out like this:

 

These aren’t totally terrible, but they are still not on par with what I expect. These pictures were planned out for weeks. I had purchased lamps, special bulbs, and spent a few hours making adjustments to the settings on my camera. I had also debated what kind of background I would use. I decided a plain white background would work best with the colorful pieces I make because it would not be distracting.

These were okay to begin with, but I knew I would have to keep improving.

My next set of pictures were these:

 

Over all these pictures were taken using the same method as the first. The only difference was some photo editing software. I used it to brighten up the background, but in the end didn’t like the result. I felt it washed out the actual jewelry and it was time consuming to match up the background colour.

These are the next set:

 

I was inspired by some pictures I had seen in a magazine. I thought it would be cool to have some paper backgrounds that were colourful. I stopped by the paper place and grabbed these guys. But in this case, I felt the background was too distracting.

And now we have:

 

These are the pictures I am currently taking. I think these are working out quite well. I use the sun as my lighting and incorporate both the plain and colourful backgrounds. I like the way this method represents each design. The detail of each piece is accompanied by an interesting pattern paper that goes with the style of each design as well.

What’s Next?

The next step is models. I want to take pictures of the jewelry being worn in a story setting. The concept will be powerful and dangerous ladies. I think it will be a lot of fun, but also a lot of work. It took me five months to get to this point where designs remain stationary when photographed. I can only imagine how long it will take to snap awesome live action shots.

Leave a Reply

